美國運通公佈最新調查結果:
香港企業領袖有意增加科技投資 並接納共享經濟模式

Amex_2018_Hong_Kong_economic_infographic_CN

美國運通最新公佈的2018年度《美國運通環球經濟及商業支出監測》結果顯示,香港的財務決策要員繼續看好本地經濟增長前景。調查結果亦支持港府對下半年經濟表現強勁的預測。

我們的客戶主任擔當十分重要的角色,憑藉他們的豐富經驗、優質服務及專業知識,可為客戶度身訂造合適的方案,善用每項產品和服務。正因如此,我們特別將客戶主任與商務客戶的數目保持在較低的比例,讓他們有更多時間了解及照顧客戶的需要。

當被問及公司的主要業務目標時,77%受訪商界領袖指稱是「更能滿足客戶需要」,其次是「在同業中保持競爭力」(43%)及「提高公司擁有人及股東所得財務回報」(43%)。

美國運通副總裁兼環球商業服務香港及台灣區總經理彭德豐(Stephen Pendergast)表示:「本地商界領袖看好經濟前景,但仍心存隱憂。隨著生活開支不斷上升、社會各界對最低工資方面的議論,以及科技發展帶來的顛覆,企業應以人為本,迎合客戶日新月異的需求,同時滿足員工期望,建立更好的工作文化,讓他們得以盡展所長。這些都是企業於嚴峻營運環境中保持市場競爭力的關鍵要素。」

超過半數(57%)香港受訪者認為提高薪酬是來年吸引及留住人才的第一步,遠超全球平均水平(37%)。社會就法定最低工資將於2019年5月調整而引發的議論日增,今次調查結果正顯示香港在這方面踏出一大步。而其他吸引及留住人才的措施包括:

  • 增加事業發展機會,如調職和到外地交流(50%)
  • 容許彈性工作安排,如靈活上班時間及遙距工作(47%)
  • 改善家事假及醫療福利(43%)
  • 改善退休福利(37%)

接納共享經濟模式

大部分本港受訪者(83%)認為「共享經濟」將於未來五年對其行業產生重大影響。77%受訪者更指出其公司可望於五年內,開拓建基於共享經濟的產品或服務,62%則認為共享經濟將大大提升香港的競爭力。

共享經濟是香港近年的熱門話題,有人認為香港接納這種嶄新經濟模式的步伐緩慢。共享經濟聯盟於去年八月委託香港大學民意研究計劃進行調查,結果顯示在創新科技發展上,新加坡及首爾得分最高(5分中獲得3.8分),而香港平均得分只有1.9分。

彭德豐補充說:「今次調查結果反映出我們需要支持,並善用這些為推動創新而成立的行業關注組,以確保香港的競爭優勢。他們有助孕育潛在合作夥伴,配合有意將業務數碼化及現代化的企業所需;我們亦應支持香港政府為推動此等投資而制定的政策。」

增加科技投資

逾半數受訪者 (53%) 指「企業級資訊科技系統」是他們來年的首要投資項目,而資訊科技及管理人員亦被各行各業受訪者視為招聘及留住人才的首要目標。

然而,調查結果亦顯示科技往往會導致公司的內部矛盾。「科技應用」被視為令不同年齡組別員工出現矛盾和爭論的首要原因 (73%),其次是溝通方式 (63%)、工作與生活平衡 (50%)、職業操守 (43%) 及是否願意通力合作以發揮團隊精神 (33%)。

彭德豐總結說:「雖然企業們在策略層面上正逐漸接納先進科技,但他們需要更努力以確保公司上下樂於接納並採用這些科技。首先,經理級人員應以身作則,向同事清楚說明新科技如何更有效地滿足客戶需要,令工作變得輕鬆。其次,內部溝通方面應加強趣味及互動,讓員工可隨時提問和分享成功個案,並持之以恆,讓員工時刻感受到公司的全力支持。」

下載

Hong Kong’s corporate leaders want to invest more in new technology and embrace the sharing economy

Amex_2018_Hong_Kong_economic_infographic_EN

Finance executives in Hong Kong are optimistic about the city’s economic growth, according to the annual American Express Global Business and Spending Outlook. The findings support the Hong Kong government’s prospects for a strong economic climate throughout the rest of the year.

While the overwhelming majority (93%) expect substantial or modest economic expansion in Hong Kong, (compared to 85% globally), many Hong Kong executives (87%) are concerned that an unanticipated event related to economic, political, social, or environment issues could have a negative impact on businesses.

When asked about business priorities, 77% of business leaders said “better meeting customer needs”. This was followed by “remaining competitive with other companies” (43%) and “improving financial returns to owners or shareholders” (43%).

“Business leaders in Hong Kong are bullish, but there is an underlying sentiment of concern. With rising living costs, ongoing debates on minimum wage, and disruptions from technology, companies should focus on people – catering to the evolving demands of customers and meeting the expectations of employees to create a better work culture where they can thrive. These will be vital to weathering tough climates and remaining competitive,” said Stephen Pendergast, Vice President & General Manager - Global Commercial Services, Hong Kong & Taiwan at American Express.

More than half (57%) of Hong Kong respondents said raising wages or salaries would be the first step towards attracting and retaining employees in the coming year, a figure well ahead of the global average (37%) and a positive step in light of the growing debate on minimum wage, set for renewal in May 2019. Other improvements included:

  • Expand career development opportunities, such as relocation and geographic rotation opportunities (50%)
  • Allow flexible work arrangements, such as flexible scheduling and remote work (47%)
  • Improve healthcare, family leave or medical benefits (43%)
  • Improve retirement benefits (37%)

Embracing the concept of the sharing economy

The majority of respondents (83%) said that the “sharing economy” will have a substantial impact on their industries within the next five years. Seventy-seven percent (77%) of interviewees also said their companies are likely to develop offerings based on sharing economy innovations during the next five years; and 62% said the sharing economy could boost the city’s competitiveness.

The sharing economy has been under heated debate in Hong Kong, with some saying the city has been slow to embrace the new economy. Last August the University of Hong Kong’s Public Opinion Programme commissioned by the Sharing Economy Alliance showed that while Singapore and Seoul scored the highest in the category for developing innovation and technology (3.8 points out of 5), Hong Kong scored an average of only 1.9 points.

“Our findings suggest that we need support and leverage the industry groups created to drive innovation and ensure that Hong Kong maintains its competitive edge, because they are the incubators for potential partners as companies seek to digitize and modernize operations. It’s also equally important that we embrace government policies that support these investments,” Mr. Pendergast added.

Rising investment in technology

More than half of the respondents (53%) chose enterprise-level IT systems as the leading investment category for the coming year. In line with this finding, IT and management staff were identified as the top priorities for hiring and retention across all sectors.

However, the survey also showed that technology often causes internal conflict. The survey showed that use of technology was the top source of conflicts and disagreement among age groups within the workforce (73%), followed by communication style (63%), work-life balance (50%), work ethic (43%), and willingness to collaborate and work as a team (33%).

“Companies are embracing technology at the strategic level, but more work is needed to ensure that it is adopted and embraced throughout the company,” Mr. Pendergast said. “First, managers need to be ambassadors and clearly communicate how the new technology will better meet customer needs and make their lives easier. Second, internal communications need to be more fun and engaging, and continue beyond the launch of the new technology so that employees can ask questions, share success stories, and feel supported throughout the time.”

Download