《大灣區發展計劃為香港企業家帶來的機遇》

2019年8月,中國政府頒布了一份支持粵港澳大灣區發展計劃的最新政策,內容概述了未來深圳地區的改革和發展藍圖。

此前,廣東省政府曾於2019年7月發布了兩份有關大灣區發展的文件,分別為《粵港澳大灣區發展規劃綱要》和《廣東省推進粵港澳大灣區建設三年行動計劃(2018-2020年)》。雖然過去也有類似的珠三角區經濟發展規劃出台,但專家指出這次的大灣區計劃與以往政策有著明顯差異,因此引起了香港企業家們的密切關注。

香港貿易發展局研究總監關家明在與美國運通的訪問中表示:「這是首次出現由北京中央政府直接認可和領導的地區發展計劃,整個項目由七名政治局常委之一的國務院副總理韓正負責,並交由主要相關部門直接參與管理。」他補充:「這亦是首次兩個特別行政區:澳門和香港積極參與於中國的經濟發展計劃。是次發展雖由中央政府主導,但其目標並不是將香港納入整個中國經濟發展藍圖之中,而是希望重點推進廣東和香港地區之間的經濟交流和發展。」

關家明亦提到:「是次發展計劃能有助協調不同地區的差異,通過兩地政府的直接合作亦能減少因制度所產生的障礙,更有利於兩地人員、商品、資金、服務以及信息交流,例如,透過加強兩地海關合作,商品再不需拆封及經兩次查驗就能通關。此外,兩地居民或長期居留的外籍人仕亦可獲發放特別通關證件,以方便他們於大灣區自由來往。」

目標將不再限制於本地市場

作為創業搖籃的香港亦會從大灣區經濟一體化模式中獲益。本地市場規模有限、空間不足、以及工業基礎缺乏均限制了本港企業的發展,香港企業家在發展初期往往需著眼於海外找尋更適合的發展空間。而鄰近的大灣區總面積超過56,000平方公里,約是三藩市灣區的三倍;總人口超過7,000萬,生產總值更高達1.6萬億美元,與東京灣區和紐約都會區相約。因此,大灣區提供一個嶄新的營商選擇。

大灣區發展計劃其中一個亮點是促進包括香港、深圳、東莞和廣州在內的科技產業走廊。有志於創新及科技發展的香港企業家可善用區內各城市的優勢促進業務發展,集合香港的國際人才、東莞的工業基建、深圳的應用開發技術以及廣州的龐大市場覆蓋,互相配合讓企業可從中獲益。

在7月發布的政策規劃中,中央政府計劃進一步對香港和澳門的企業開放深圳市場,加快建設深圳與香港之間的科技創新合作園區。其中創新領域包括:5G、人工智能、網絡技術和生物醫療技術。

知識產權、稅收和融資

對於在大灣區尋找機會的海外投資者來說,香港一直是他們的立腳點。關家明指出:「就發達國家的投資者而言,他們普遍對直接進入中國市場有所保留,尤其出於對知識產權和稅制方面的考量,香港的營商環境則相對更為容易和友好。」

關家明指出:「政府正努力消除投資者的疑慮。雖然香港和大陸保持著各自的法律體系,但香港企業家可以通過內地所設立的香港仲裁中心,在知識產權和商業爭議方面享受與香港同等的法律保護。」

與此同時,內地亦放寬對香港居民的稅制。亦會向每位在大灣區工作的合資格人仕發放個人所得稅補貼,消除兩地的工作開支差距。
香港企業可透過大灣區計劃擴展業務,更有機會從中吸納國際資金,將業務拓展至國際市場。據香港貿發局統計,僅在深圳已有將近4000名風險投資家盤踞。

關家明指出:「中國每年在世界各地投資總額超過1200至1300億美元,單單投放或通過香港的投資就佔 60%,而當中廣東佔最大比率,大灣區因而成為大陸主要資金外投的來源 」他續說:「在目前的環球貿易環境下,很多來自廣東的投資者都積極尋找更多回報和不同投資機會。」

如何支持大灣區的香港企業家

隨著大灣區商業機會增加,不同行業的企業家需要更有效方便的跨境支付方案。

美國運通發現不少企業仍依賴過時的支付方式,例如電匯、銀行匯票和支票等,企業與中國內地夥伴合作時亦因此遇見不同困難,例如受付款期限約束,交易狀態透明度低、匯率變動和過度人手化而成本增加。

有鑑及此,美國運通提供以電子技術驅動的環球貨幣支付方案,助香港企業解決上述問題,企業可將資源集中投放於業務發展上。

Implications of Greater Bay Area Development Plan for Hong Kong Entrepreneurs

In August 2019, the Chinese Central Government issued a policy document outlining reform and development guidelines for Shenzhen which supported the implementation of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (Greater Bay Area, or GBA) Development Plan. This issuance followed the release of two documents by the Guangdong Government in July – the Implementation Plan for the Outline Development Plan for the GBA and a Three-Year Action Plan for Building the GBA (2018-2020).

The GBA Development Plan could warrant closer attention from entrepreneurs in Hong Kong. While there has been other regional economic development plans in the past, most notably the Pearl River Delta Economic Zone, experts point out that the GBA is fundamentally different.

“This is the first time that a regional development plan is directly endorsed and led by the central government of Beijing,” says Nicholas Kwan, Director of Research at the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) in an interview with American Express. “Under GBA there is a formal management structure led by Vice Premier Han Zheng, one of the seven Politburo members. Key ministries are also directly involved.”

Kwan says that for the first time, two of mainland China’s Special Administrative Regions (SARs) namely Hong Kong and Macao are under a Chinese economic plan. The objective of having high level political involvement however is not to subsume the SARs into China’s central economic planning but is to facilitate the development of economic flows among Guangdong regions and the SARs.

“The purpose is to coordinate the development of the different systems, each government looking after their own areas while ensuring that the borders do not cause disruptions to flow of people, product, capital, services and information,” says Kwan.

“For example, by allowing the custom authorities of both sides to set up a system of straight through processing, products could be identified under seal and cross border without being checked twice. Also there could be special visas granted to residents or foreigner-residents of the regions to allow them to travel freely within the regions.”

Extending beyond the local market

As a hotspot for entrepreneurship, Hong Kong may stand to gain from greater economic integration in the GBA. Given its limitation of market size, space and small industrial base, entrepreneurs usually have to look abroad early in their development. With a geographic area of 56,000 square kilometers, the GBA is about three times the size of the San Francisco Bay Area. Its combined population of over 70 million people and a GDP of around US$1.6 trillion make it comparable to that of Tokyo Bay Area and New York Metropolitan Area.

Entrepreneurs in technology and innovation sectors could adopt a regional approach when developing their businesses. The GBA development plan aims to promote the GBA Science and Technology Corridor comprising Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Dongguan and Guangzhou. Each of these cities has complementary advantages. For example, Hong Kong is a magnet for international talent, Dongguan has extensive manufacturing capabilities, Shenzhen is notable for application development, while Guangzhou provides broad market coverage.

In a policy guideline issued last month, the central government plans to support Shenzhen in raising the level of opening up to Hong Kong and Macao, and speeding up the construction of the Shenzhen-Hong Kong technology innovation cooperation area. Innovation sectors include 5G, artificial intelligence, cyberspace technology and bio-medical technology.

For foreign entrepreneurs eyeing opportunities in the region, Hong Kong may still be the first stop. “The operating environment in Hong Kong is still more user friendly for those coming from developed countries and may not be comfortable going straight into China,” Kwan points out. “They may have genuine concerns such as intellectual property protection and tax status.

Intellectual property, tax, and financing

Kwan says work is being done to address some of these concerns. “While Hong Kong and mainland China will maintain their respective legal systems, Hong Kong entrepreneurs might be able to enjoy Hong Kong levels of protection in terms of intellectual properties and commercial disputes settlements through the setup of Hong Kong arbitration centers on the mainland.”

Tax regulations for Hong Kong residents are also being relaxed. For example mainland Chinese individual income tax subsidies will be granted to eligible talents working in the region so that they do not have to pay more than what they would have to at home.

The GBA may help not only entrepreneurs thinking of expanding or developing in the GBA region. Those seeking global expansion may turn to sources of financing from within GBA. According to HKTDC, in Shenzhen alone, there are nearly 4,000 active venture capitalists.

“China is investing more than US$120-US$130 billion to the rest of the world each year, 60% is destined for or routed through Hong Kong. The largest single source of investments is from Guangdong. The GBA is a major source of outward investment for the region and rest of the world,” says Kwan. “They are hungry for investment opportunities especially under current trade environment. A lot of Guangdong-based investors are looking for more meaningful returns and diversification of investments.”

Supporting Hong Kong Entrepreneurs in Greater Bay Area

As business opportunities grow within the GBA, entrepreneurs across different industries are likely to require effective solutions to support their cross-border transactions. For payment processes, American Express (Amex) has found that common pain points with Mainland Chinese partners include unfavorable payment terms, limited visibility on payment status, seasonal fluctuations and resource-intensive manual processes.

These are due to the fact that many businesses are still relying on outdated payment mechanisms such as telegraphic transfer, banker’s drafts and cheques. By offering a global US dollar payment solution which is electronic and technology-driven, Amex can help Hong Kong businesses reduce their pain points and allow them to focus on their international expansion strategies.