如何透過採購為企業創造更大利益

採購的好壞是企業成功關鍵,可惜不少公司近期才逐漸明白採購是重要角色。亞洲採購及供應協會(Procurement and Supply Institute of Asia)主席兼行政總裁Charlie Villasenor 表示:「今時今日,專業採購人員不僅要精心搜尋貨源,亦須管理風險及慎擇供應商,並顧及企業的社會責任及可持續發展。」

策略貨源搜尋(strategic sourcing)日漸被視為可讓企業達致業務目標的重要行動。企業需要仔細衡量如何將兩者協調,以達到最佳成果。

訂立目標
策略顧問公司Hackett Group發表的 《2013年採購議題研究報告》 (2013 Procurement Key Issues Research)顯示,減少開支仍是採購主管提高績效的首要任務。力求創新的重要性亦迅速飆升,而監管供應商是否違規或構成風險管理同樣非常重要。

企業訂立目標時,不再只著眼於利潤,而須全盤考慮可持續發展、企業社會責任及簡化程序等方面。要是能以更明智、更具策略的方式來執行採購職能,有助達致上述目標。畢馬威會計師事務所(KPMG)發表的《2013年未來購物趨勢:採購功能之發展前景》(2013 FUTUREBUY: The Future of Procurement)研究報告指出,要是採購部門證明能為公司創造價值,將可在策略規劃上擔當更重要角色。

落實行動
一旦有明確目標,採購部門便須透過行動來改善績效的範疇。對不少企業而言,這意味著要妥善配對供應鏈,並找出重要供應商,與之合作為公司帶來更大利益。

企業為騰出資金以發展業務,可能要和供應商重談合約。採用公司卡,能令企業增加談判籌碼,因為供應商有信心定能準時獲付貨款,甚至願意給予提早付款折扣,而企業卻無須即時備妥款項,令使用公司卡的企業受惠。

釐訂和衡量成效
要衡量採購目標是否成功,需要一套能夠量化的量度準則,企業需要豐富的數據以衡量成效並找出有待改善之處,但與此同時他們亦須確保有關資料是正確的績效指標。凱捷集團(CapGemini)發表的《2012至2013年全球採購總監意見調查》(2012-13 Global Chief Procurement Officer Survey)指出,企業必須深入研究以了解哪些數據對公司內不同職能的影響最大,以確保所採納的資料能有助作出最有效的分析。

企業在展開任何新計劃前,必先獲取基準數據作為衡量基礎,並繼而利用同一標準來分析績效,找出企業發展的正確路向。透過使用公司卡,企業便能取得豐富的即時數據,用作分析及編製詳盡報告,密切監察開支並進行比較,找出有所改善之處。

衡量績效可讓採購部門證明有助公司業務達標,並繼續為公司增添效益。

Objective-Driven Procurement Strategies Add More Value

Procurement is vital to the success of a business and Companies are slowly waking up to the fact that purchasing can be a strategic function. Just last year, the former Procurement and Sourcing Institute of Asia became the Procurement and Supply Institute of Asia (PASIA) to reflect the changing demands being placed on the function by businesses.

“Gone are the days of simply focusing on buying,” said Charlie Villasenor, PASIA chairman and chief executive officer. “Today, our professionals must not only source strategically, they also need to manage risk, to appraise and select suppliers, and to be concerned for corporate social responsibility and sustainability. Hence, our new name reflects this integrated view.”

In essence, strategic sourcing is increasingly perceived as an integral part of companies’ efforts to meet all of their business objectives. Firms need to look at how they can align the two to achieve the best possible outcomes for their organizations.

Setting Objectives
The Hackett Group’s international 2013 Procurement Key Issues Research found that reducing spending was still the number one performance-related priority for procurement leaders. Nevertheless, innovation is growing rapidly in importance, while managing supplier risk and compliance are also high on the agenda.

Businesses no longer look at profit alone when they set objectives. Sustainability, corporate social responsibility and process simplicity are all to be considered alongside the bottom line. Procurement functions can play an important role in achieving all of them if they do so in an intelligent and strategic way. According to KPMG’s 2013 FUTUREBUY: The Future of Procurement report, purchasing departments that can demonstrate how they create value for the whole organization will be able to take a bigger role in strategic planning.

Action Points
Once it is clear what must be achieved, purchasing functions must focus on the areas in which they can take definite action to improve performance. For many, this will mean mapping their supply chains and isolating strategic suppliers with whom they can work to add the most value.

As part of plans to free up additional capital to invest in growth, it may be necessary to renegotiate contracts with some suppliers. Using a Corporate Card, businesses have extra negotiating power. They can pay suppliers promptly and perhaps even take advantage of early payment discounts without having the funds immediately available - an Amex account offers 51 interest-free days on any one payment, allowing companies to meet their obligations and preserve their cash flow effectively.

A Corporate Card system can also contribute to fulfilling other objectives. Moving to a paperless system is an integral part of any sustainability strategy, while paying suppliers promptly and efficiently can play a pivotal role in fostering strong working relationships.

Define and Measure Success
Success is difficult to gauge without a quantifiable objective, and in order to measure it effectively companies need access to as much data as possible to clarify positive outcomes and identify areas for improvement. However, it is important that businesses focus on measuring the right performance indicators. In CapGemini’s 2012-13 Global Chief Procurement Officer Survey, it was found that businesses need to conduct thorough studies to understand which datasets have the biggest impact on different functions in the business, ensuring that the data being measured is appropriate to provide the insight companies need.

Before embarking on any new initiative, businesses need to obtain benchmarking data to act as a baseline for measuring development. After that, it is important to keep analysing performance regularly on the same criteria to give an accurate sense of the direction in which companies are headed. Corporate Cards capture large volumes of rich data that can be analysed and used to generate detailed reports in real time, providing full visibility so businesses can track their spending and make comparisons to see where improvements have been made.

Measuring performance will make it much simpler for procurement functions to demonstrate the strategic role they play in achieving business objectives. In turn, this will increase their influence at the strategic planning level and enable them to continue adding value to organizations.