貿易旺季的貸款需要

更具彈性的借貸方案

本港不少公司在淡季與旺季時的業務差別甚大,例如農曆新年是生產商的淡季,但聖誕節前卻是忙個不停,而暑假就是旅遊公司的黃金檔期,此外亦有些應節產品每年僅有數月推出市場,以配合季節或節日所需 。

摘要:

  • 本地公司於貿易旺季時往往因缺乏流動資金而煩惱
  • 檢視過往公司現金流的紀錄,預測不同季度的資金需要
  • 美國運通公司卡計劃提供長達 51天免息還款期,有助解決企業現金短缺的問題
Amex_Peak_Season_Trade_Credit_980x500

這些季節性的生意額波動, 直接影響公司的現金流狀況,對每月的營運成本構成莫大壓力。舉個例子,在旺季前下訂單,便會幾近掏空公司的流動現金。以生產商為例,一些付運往歐洲或北美的產品,由設計、生產至裝貨運輸 ,往往需時長達六個月。當訂單交由供應商處理時,可能正值公司缺乏流動資金,加上發展業務所需的投資、預算以外的資本,以及浮動不定的外匯市場,都會令公司的現金嚴重短缺 。

若稍後產品銷售情況理想,大量資金回流,理論上足以令公司現金流在餘下來的一整季回復理想水平,但這種兩極化流動資金狀況,均不利於公司的長遠發展及營運,需要認真處理。

預測趨勢

首先,你應重新檢視公司過往的現金流紀錄,然後分析出公司的淡季及旺季趨勢,看看哪些月份的流動資金特別緊絀?是否可更有系統地作出預測?最重要是能夠利用公司的所有數據,以宏觀的角度分析,找出有效的解決方案。要知道,從過往的紀錄作分析,往往是預測未來的最佳方法。

與此同時,你亦必須從公司內部著手,於淡季時設法提高流動現金。開源方面,可考慮提供折扣以增加銷售,或向提早付款的客作出回饋等;節流亦同樣重要,你應審視每個步驟的現金狀況,從收款、付款,以至庫存,是否有改善現金流的空間,看看哪些開支可略作改動,以配合淡季及旺季的資金狀況。

例如,你可將所有財務選項重新檢視一次,從銀行、信用卡、記帳週期,以至開發票的習慣等,了解每筆銷售成功後需多久才開單。要知道,時間往往是問題的根源,但亦是解決辦法的重要關鍵。先了解你的信用卡記帳條件,以及供應商的記帳週期,主動調整記帳週期、客戶付款數期及訂金數目,長遠而言可改善現金緊絀的問題。

事實上,現金流管理不僅限於淡季適用,在旺季時亦同樣重要,千萬不要以為解決了眼前的難題便可安枕無憂,應該未雨籌謬,否則在公司出現資金壓力時才處理便會太遲 。

借貸選擇

為解決流動資金緊絀的問題,不少中型企業均會向銀行申請商業貸款,但由於銀行收緊借貸,往往碰璧,就算成功申請亦需時甚久,而且這些貸款會顯示在公司的負債表上,對整體收有或有影響。

美國運通公司卡計劃是借貸以外的另一選擇,你可善用長達51天的免息還款期,在旺季前預先入貨,而不會影響現金流,更可享有不同的記帳週期選項,助你解決淡季與旺季的盈業額波動,更具彈性。

Peak Season Trade Credit

Flexible Credit Solutions to Meet Your Peak Demand

Many Hong Kong companies see dramatic seasonal swings in their business, from a dip in production during Lunar New Year to a spike in demand just ahead of Christmas. Perhaps you are a travel agency that sees the most in demand for your services during the summer holiday season, or your product targets to a niche market that is only active for a few months a year.

Summary:

  • Tight cash flow means Hong Kong companies struggle to find working capital during peak trade season
  • Study your cash flow history to identify and quantify your seasonal trends
  • American Express’ corporate program provides up to 51 days of credit on purchases made with our cards
Amex_Peak_Season_Trade_Credit_980x500

Each rise and fall in activity has a closely correlated impact on your cash flow that can make month-to-month operations a nightmare. Manufacturing and shipping products to Europe or North America can take months, which means you may be ordering supplies just when cash flow is at its lowest. Combine that with investing in your growth, meeting unexpected capital costs and coping with an unpredictable foreign exchange market and your company may be facing serious cash flow challenges.

Seasonalities usually impact both your revenues and your costs. You place big orders ahead of peak season, draining your cash reserves, but your payday, when it comes, is significant, pushing aside all cash flow concerns until the next season. These extreme swings in cash flow are detrimental to your company’s long-term growth and operations, and they need to be addressed.

Examine the Trends

The first step is to closely examine your cash flow history and then identify and quantify your seasonal trends. Do some peak seasons hurt your cash flow more than others? How predictable is the timing of these changes? It’s important to have a full picture, with all the metrics you can generate, to find an effective solution. Taking a hard look at the past is often the best way to predict the future.

You must also find internal ways to increase cash flow during your low season, which can be done with discounts to increase sales or incentives to encourage early payment. Look at all the stages of your cash flow, from receivables to payables and inventory, and identify all inefficiencies and potential sources of cash flow.Identify which expenditures can be better timed to more closely match your cash flow seasonalities.

Look at your working capital holistically including all of your finance options, from banks to credit cards, billing cycles to invoice habits. How fast after a sale do you issue your invoice? Just as timing is at the root of your problem, it can also be the source of a solution. Familiarise yourself with the billing terms of your credit cards and your supplier’s billing cycles. Initiatives on adjusting billing cycles, customer terms and prepayment amounts can go a long way to addressing your problems.

Managing your company’s cash flow in a seasonal industry is a task that is just as important when cash flow is high than when it is low. Do not ignore or push this issue aside with a temporary emergency has past. The best time to solve these problems is when you are not under extreme pressure to do so.

Sources of Credit

Bank loans and credit lines can help, but in today’s tight lending market mid-sized companies may struggle to get the help they need from the banking industry. Such facilitates can also take considerable time to arrange, and put a strain on your balance sheet once you have them.

American Express’ corporate program is another solution. We provide up to 51 days of credit on purchases made with our cards, allowing you to stock up on inventory ahead of predicted high demand. We also provide corporates with billing cycle options that can help you juggle seasonal fluctuations in your business.