國際貿易中心地位為香港企業迎來商務支付挑戰

香港是一個充滿商機的國際金融貿易中心,中小企業家和金融界領袖均普遍看好當地公司發展前景。

總結:

  • 普遍香港企業認為本港依然佔有獨特商務環境優勢
  • 香港企業需要一個能處理多種貨幣的國際支付方案,以解決國際貿易為商務支付帶來的挑戰
  • 香港中小企須靈活適應創新科技,才能堅守市場領導地位
Amex_payment_challenges_for_Hong_Kong_businesses_980x500

美國運通於2016年發佈的「向2020年邁進:盡展香港優勢」白皮書報告指出,被採訪的中型企業財務總監及決策者均對企業未來2-3年發展機遇持樂觀積極態度,並對其新聘人才充滿信心。他們大部分認為香港依然佔有獨特優勢,其中90%的受訪者更表示市場有明顯增長機會。

84%的受訪者表示現時公司與中國內地有生意往來 ,並強調須盡力提升兩地經濟交流效益。當被問及如需將業務遷移會考慮哪個地方時,34%的受訪者表示只有香港才能滿足他們的需要,而另外34%的受訪者表示可能搬遷至中國內地,中港兩地競爭關係不言而喻。

香港的商業環境優勢同時也為自身帶來了一定挑戰。作為通往中國的大門,香港如今不僅只是作為船舶和商人開放的貿易港口,更代表了中國和世界各地往來的成千上億人民幣業務所需的基建,技術和效率。調查還指出進入中國內地市場主要靠銷售和採購方面,這意味著國際支付對於香港企業領導者來說是一個巨大的挑戰。

Amex_90_Percent_CN

Amex_84_Percent_CN

Amex_34_Percent_CN

在這利率和匯率不穩定的非常時期,美元將繼續成為港企主要收入貨幣,而人民幣亦將被廣泛用於內地賬單支付。香港公司須採用高效並兼備數據處理功能的支付方案,才能充分把握貨幣機遇,滿足日益繁複的商業法規要求。

中國內地改革政策在未來幾年將優先發展創新科技,香港中小企須發揮靈活應變的優勢,才能堅守市場領導地位。

Being at the crossroads creates payment challenges for Hong Kong businesses

Hong Kong is a unique and dynamic place to operate if you’re a mid-sized business, and local finance leaders remain optimistic about growing their companies from here.

Summary:

  • Hong Kong companies see their location as a distinct business advantage
  • Doing international trade from Hong Kong requires a robust payment solution that operates efficiently in multiple currencies
  • Hong Kong’s unique position requires companies to be adaptive to new technologies
Amex_payment_challenges_for_Hong_Kong_businesses_980x500

Our Roadmap to 2020 Future-Proofing Survey, published in 2016, interviewed finance decision makers at mid-sized companies and found they had a positive outlook, expressing their confidence in new hiring in the coming 2-3 years. Being located in Hong Kong was seen as a specific and distinct advantage, and 90% of them saw clear opportunities for growth here. An overwhelming 84% said they are currently doing business with Mainland China, emphasising the importance of working on ways to improve efficiency in that exchange.

When asked where they would move their business to if forced, 34% said only Hong Kong would serve their needs, while 34% said they could move to Mainland China. Our key competition is clearly from the mainland.

The advantages of the Hong Kong business environment also bring their own unique challenges. Being the gateway to Mainland China today means more than just an open trading port for ships and merchants. It means having the infrastructure, technology and efficiency to channel billions of RMB in business between Mainland China and the rest of the world.

The survey found that the most important aspects of access to Mainland China were sales and procurement, which means that international payments presented a big challenge for finance decision makers.

Amex_90_Percent_EN

Amex_84_Percent_EN

Amex_34_Percent_EN

Never more so than today, at a time of uncertainty in interest rates and key foreign exchange rates. The Hong Kong Dollar peg to the US Dollar could serve us well in the near future, as many Hong Kong corporates collect revenues in US Dollar, while paying their bills in Mainland China with RMB.

However, in order to capitalise on that currency situation a company needs an efficient payment solution with the data capabilities to meet today’s increased regulatory and compliance requirements.

The policies stemming from Mainland China’s reform agenda will prioritise innovative science and technology for the next few years. Smaller scale mid-sized businesses are in a good position as they are quick to adapt. Hong Kong companies must embrace that mindset in order to retain their market leadership.